Healthy Living, For Real

Just another WordPress.com site

Surprise, Surprise! December 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — carapickelsimer @ 9:10 pm

Yesterday, Mr. Man came home and told me that we were not going to be moving back to Florida in three weeks. I was heartbroken.

His company is holding him here until the 22nd of January, and they’re only giving him the 24th & 25th off, which means no time for travel. We will be spending Christmas… who knows where?! WHY? Because I gave our landlord a notice to vacate our apartment about 2 weeks ago, which means on the 18th of December, we will lose our apartment!

I am devastated that my son’s first real Christmas will probably be spent in a hotel room, probably eating ramen noodles.

He probably won’t care, but I will. Christmas is supposed to be a time for family, friends, happiness, and all the other good stuff. We were supposed to be in Florida, soaking up the beautiful rays from the Sunshine State, instead of here in cold, dreary Wisconsin! We’re supposed to be opening presents on the morning of the 25th with our family, and fighting over the last piece of corn casserole. It’s just not supposed to be like this.

So just as I started to bawl hysterically about the fact that in 9 days I don’t have a freaking clue where my boyfriend, kid and I will be sleeping, Mr. Man grabbed my shoes, took me outside, and made me build a snowman with him.

But because he and I are from Florida, and this is the first time we’ve ever seen snow fall, we don’t know the first thing about building a snow man. So what did we do? We pilled the snow up as high as we could with a snow shovel, and then “carved” our snowman out. 

I’m pretty sure that is the most pathetic looking, delopitated snow man in all of snow man history, but it made me realize that sometimes things don’t go as we plan-and that’s okay. In fact, life pretty much never goes as we plan. But our snowman is STILL standing, even through 2 more inches of snowfall, and we love it, simply because it’s ours. It’s not perfect, but it’s ours.

And only then did I further realize that you can’t plan life. I should have learned this one by now, but up until yesterday it hadn’t registered yet. You just can’t plan life. The only thing you can do is prepare for life, and surround yourself with people who you love. So, for the next few days, we will be preparing for whatever God throws at us next. I’d like for it to be a two bedroom condo on the beach in Daytona Beach, FL, but I’m not going to get my hopes up.

Oh, and that man up there (and the little one that looks just like him) is the reason I smile. 🙂

Merry Christmas, everyone.

-C

 

Leave a Reply

