Healthy Living, For Real

Just another WordPress.com site

Hibachi Chicken & Japanese “Yum Yum” Sauce. December 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — carapickelsimer @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , , , ,

If for some reason I had to decide what my last meal was going to be, it would undoubtedly be Japanese food. I’m obsessed with the flavors they use while cooking. The garlic, ginger, soy sauce infusion is hands down my favorite thing ever. And because I’m an American and we love all things mayonnaise based, I’d cover that last meal with “yum yum” sauce-the white sauce that everyone loses their minds over at the Japanese restaurants. Hibachi Chicken with yum yum sauce. That would be it.

I was first introduced to this sweet nectar from the Japanese cooking God’s my first year at FSU. There was a little fast food Hibachi place called Mr. Robotos within walking distance of the campus, so every chance I got I’d pop in. Oh, my, goodness. I know when I say fast food you instantly think that it sucks, but it wasn’t like that. Everything was just made to order, quickly. I spent many of days in those very silver chairs trying bite by bite to dissect the secret ingredients for their delicious white sauce, and never, ever came close to replicating it. I have covered at least 10 different meals in their “yum yum” sauce, and have probably eaten my weight in fast food Japanese from this little joint. No doubt I can contribute at least 50% of my freshman 15 to this place. If you’re ever in Tallahassee and you don’t stop to try some of their delicious cuisine, your IQ goes down by 10 points, automatically.

When the time came to leave Tally, I was obviously devastated that I wouldn’t have this amazing cuisine as a lunch choice anymore, so I let go. We only ate out at the expensive Hibachi places for special occasions-I would have to get my “yum yum” fix then. To date, since leaving Tallahassee in 2010, we’ve eaten at a Hibachi restaurant ONCE. So, naturally, when someone says “yum yum” sauce, I start salivating like a teething bulldog. The thought never occurred to me that I could just google this stuff-I thought the Japanese had this creation on lock down to keep us “yum yum” crazed Americans coming back for more.

Nope. The code to this sweet nectar has been cracked. And it has been laying out there on the internet for Lord knows how long. You can imagine the excitement and disbelief I had when I saw it, staring back at me on my computer screen. I wanted to crawl into the picture and make little “yum yum” angels in it.

If you haven’t gotten the picture yet, I would brush my teeth with this stuff.

I wish I could say the following recipe was mine, but that would be lying. I found the recipe to the white sauce here, at a blog written by Rock Star Dad, Kevin. Go check it out!

Kevin also has the perfect meal to serve this with listed on his website. Here’s the pictures from my fancy feast! This is my version of Kevin’s “Don’t Touch My Hibachi” chicken.

2 cloves of garlic, chopped (Kevin’s recipe calls for 1-I always double my garlic because I’m obsessed with its flavor)

1/4 tsp ginger

3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 cup apple juice

1/3 cup light brown sugar

2 tbsp ketchup

1 tbsp cider vinegar

1/3 cup soy sauce or liquid aminos (liquid aminos has zero calories, and tastes just like soy sauce-thanks Kevin!)

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl for the marinate. Trim and slice your chicken, and toss it in.

Let it sit for 6 hours to 2 days, covered, in the fridge. I let mine sit up for about 8 hours and the flavor was so, so perfect.

I sauteed some onions and zucchini with a little bit of butter, garlic, and salt. I served it over a bed of rice, with a side salad, topped with ginger dressing. Then, obviously, I covered it with “yum yum” sauce and ate it all up. I didn’t even stop to take a picture of it because I was literally shoveling this stuff into my mouth. I couldn’t stop.

Needless to say, Mr. Man was speechless as he ate his plate too. It’s THAT good.

Thanks, Rock Star Dad!

Please make this for yourself. It’s to die for.

🙂

-C

 

Leave a Reply

